The Patron’s Fund Board of Trustees

The Patron’s Fund is governed by a Board of Trustees who set the Fund’s strategic direction and approve all operational and financial plans.

Sir Stuart Etherington, Chair

Read More

Sir Stuart Etherington was appointed CEO of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO) in 1994. NCVO is the largest umbrella body for the voluntary and community sector in England. Previously he was CEO of the Royal National Institute for Deaf People.

Stuart is also the Chair of London United – a co-operative of community foundation associated with London’s football clubs. In 2015, he chaired a cross party review looking at the future of fundraising self-regulation and is a member of the Economic and Social Committee of the European Union.

Previously, he has been a trustee of Business in the Community, the chair of the BBC Appeals Advisory Committee, a member of the Community and Social Affairs Committee of Barclays Bank, former chair of Guidestar UK, treasurer of CIVICUS and chair of CIVICUS Europe, council member of the Institute of Employment Studies, an advisory group member for the Policy Centre at the British Academy and for the Lord Mayor’s Trust Initiative.

Throughout his career he has been involved in the leadership of voluntary organisations and policies surrounding them. As such he has become a leading commentator, both through his writing and his media profile. Stuart was knighted in 2010 for services to the voluntary sector.

Lynne Berry OBE, Trustee

Read More

Lynne Berry is Chair of Breast Cancer Now, Chair of the Commission to the Voluntary Sector and Ageing, Deputy Chair of the Canal and River Trust and Chair of Bwrdd Glandŵr Cymru (CRT in Wales); founder of Public Benefit; an associate of Civil Exchange and until recently a non-executive Director of Cambridge University Hospitals Foundation Trust. She is also a Trustee of Cumberland Lodge and Pro Bono Economics.

Lynne has been Chair, Chief Executive, Trustee and Non-Executive Director of many public and third sector bodies and an advisor to enterprises, the corporate sector and community businesses. She works with a number of universities to link the corporate and voluntary sectors, support social enterprise and to encourage women’s leadership and professional experiences to be valued in all sectors.

Bruce Gordon, Trustee

Read More

Bruce Gordon served as an Honorary Treasurer for the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association from 1997 to 2011. He is the Founder and Director of Thames Valley Capital Limited. Previously he was a Senior Audit Partner of Deloitte & Touche LLP and was a member of the Board of Partners and the Partner in charge of the southern region until 2008. He has over 30 years of partnership and financial services experience. He is the Founder of Honorary Treasurers Forum, which promotes governance and education for Honorary Treasurers and serves as its Chairman. Bruce is also the Honorary Treasurer of NCVO.

Anthony Wreford, Trustee

Read More

Anthony Wreford specialises in people businesses, either as an advisor or as a non-executive director. His executive career was mainly spent in the advertising and marketing sector, where he built his own agency, was a divisional CEO of Omnicom and later Deputy Chairman for Omnicom Europe.

His current directorships include Portas Consulting (advice to sports federations and corporates); Hall & Partners (market research); the US board of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and FPE Capital.  His advisory clients include Aberdeen Asset Management,?WhatIf! (an innovation consultancy) and the European Tour.

In September 2015 he retired as Senior Trustee of the Marylebone Cricket Club (six years).  He was also Chairman of the Professional Cricketers’ Association (2009-2014).

Disbursement Committee

The Board of Trustees of The Patron’s Fund have established a Disbursement Committee to support them in the distribution of funds from The Patron’s Fund. The Committee will be responsible for reviewing and recommending gift applications. Its membership comprises experienced, senior leaders in the charitable sector and grant giving.

Professor Sir Michael Aaronson, Honorary Visiting Professor at the University of Surrey (previously CEO, Save the Children 1995-2005)

Dawn Austwick, CEO Big Lottery Fund

Stephen Dunmore, CEO Fundraising Regulator

Sir Stuart Etherington, CEO NCVO (Chair)

Caroline Mason, CEO Esmée Fairbairn Foundation

Suzi Williams, Non-Executive Board Director

For all enquiries, contact